At MailerSend, you can send transactional emails using your own domain name. A sending domain is your unique identifier in the MailerSend application.
Before you can start sending emails from your domain, you need to add and verify it. Read our help article on How to add and verify your sending domain for instructions.
Once your domain is verified, it’s time to let the good times roll!
Your domain name is unique for your account, and there can only exist one of the same domain among all accounts using MailerSend.
You can have more than one domain under your personal account, and each domain can have different settings (they are not related to each other). For example, if you set to track opens or unsubscribes for one domain, another domain that belongs to your account can use different settings.
How to manage domains
All domains that belong to your account are listed under the Domains page. You can access this page from the main top navigation bar. Once you’re there, select the domain you want to see or change settings for.
The first page you see under Domains are the basic statistics. Here you can check how many emails have been processed, how many were successfully delivered and how many were rejected.
Processed defines the number of emails that you tried to send through the MailerSend email API endpoint.
Delivered defines the number of emails that went through the MailerSend email API endpoint and have been successfully delivered to the provided recipients.
Rejected defines the number of emails that didn’t go through. Usually these are bounces or suppressed email addresses. Please read more about suppressed email addresses in this article.
API tokens are used for authentication when sending emails or accessing server-specific endpoints. They’re the preferred alternative to using a username and password, as you can revoke an API token at any time and use different permissions.
Tokens are generated under your domains, but you can access other domains using the same token belonging to your account too.
Read more about API tokens in this article.
When sending emails with MailerSend, you can enable tracking for a specific domain. This feature is helpful when you want to know how your recipients interact with your emails.
You can choose between open, click, unsubscribe and content tracking.
Read more about domain tracking options in this article.
On this page you can find details on how to start sending emails from your domain. We’ve included the most important examples to give you an idea.
If you want to know more about how to start sending emails through MailerSend, please read this article.
Under the advanced settings you can see all additional things that you can do with your domain, such as manage the unsubscribe page and suppressions.
When using MailerSend, you can enable unsubscribe tracking for your domain. Please refer to this article to read more about tracking details (including unsubscribe tracking).
When unsubscribe tracking is enabled, you might want to control how the unsubscribe page looks and works. In this section, you can edit the design of your unsubscribe page.
Read more about designing your unsubscribe page here. [WIP]
Suppressions is the list of email addresses that will be rejected during the sending process. In this section, you can see how many emails have been rejected during your sendings.
Read more about suppressions here.
We call this section a danger zone for a reason, so be careful. In this section, you can stop sendings and delete domains. These actions can directly affect your sendings.
You can pause sendings at any time. In order to do that, you need to click on the Stop sending button. Once stopped, our servers will accept your API requests but none of the emails will be delivered.
Once sendings are stopped, MailerSend accepts all API requests and stores them into the queue. While requests are stored, two buttons are available: Resume sending and Clear queue.
If you choose to Resume sending, all API requests that are stored will be processed. This means that MailerSend will send all the emails that didn’t go out while sendings were stopped.
If there is a need to not send emails that have been stored in the queue, you need to click on the Clear queue button and then click on the Resume sending button. This will clear all emails that were collected while sendings were stopped.
Delete a domain
If you decide to delete a domain, you can do this here. After selecting the domain to delete, a confirmation message will appear where you need to agree to the deletion. This action cannot be undone!
All emails that are sent through the domain will be rejected immediately and all information will be deleted, including activity and analytics.
- Getting started
- Account settings